

May 24, 2017 meeting Summit Hill District 161 Board Briefs

Serving 3,000+ students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Supt. Barb Rains at 815.469.9103

Board of education recognizes, congratulates students, staff members

At Wednesday night's meeting, members of the Board recognized the following students for their exemplary academic progress during the 2016-2017 school year: Esmeralda Delgadillo, Arbury Hills School; Madison Knipper, Frankfort Square School; Nataliya Marshall, Indian Trail School; Joseph Rossow, Dr. Julian Rogus School; Richard Lin, Walker School; and Olivia Scudieri, Summit Hill Jr. High.

The Board also recognized students for their participation in the State Science Fair Competition, Summit Hill Chess Team members who participated in the IESA State Chess Tournament, Summit Hill students who participated in the Scholastic Bowl Sectionals, and Summit Hill Track members who participated in the IESA State Track and Field Tournament last weekend.

Additionally, members of the Board congratulated Wall of Gratitude honorees for the Month of May. Recognized were: Laura Cissell, Stacy DeJong, Jody Diehl, Carla Ervick, Laura Kinnan, and John Snipes from Arbury Hills School; Kevin Perkins, Ken Shenbarger, and Frank Zajac from District Office; Lori Coverick, Katelyn Hunkler, Cathy Kluge, Sue McCarthy, Christi Perch, and Melissa Thomas from Rogus School; Kaaren Bailey, Rita Binzen, Megan Cullen, Laura Fifer, Stacey Froeschle, Deb Hebel, Jessica Howard, Lisa Hyde, Kristen Jastrzab, Robert Jeffrey, Sheri Jendersak, Cathi McNeil, Debbie Murphy, Tina Prorok, Amanda Sabo, Deena Savas, Nancy Sobczak, Matt Tadla, and Jody Tedeschi from Frankfort Square School; Kathryn Hopkins, Mollie Marshall, Mike McDonald, Scott Smalter, Lisa Strzykalski, Ray Strzykalski, and Patrick Sullivan from SHJH; and Maura Carroll and Laura Goebel from Walker School.

In personnel matters, the Board

- approved the employment of Amanda Pearson as a social worker and Pam Tucker as a paraprofessional for the 2017-2018 school year;
- approved the employment of Linda Gonzales as an ESY social worker and Tabitha FeFee as an ESY paraprofessional; and
- accepted the resignations of Stephanie Daley, ESY nurse, and Elizabeth Nieken, ESY paraprofessional.

In other matters, the Board

- approved a one year contract with Perfect Cleaning for custodial service cleaning;
- approved the revised motion of the non-certified insurance proposal;
- approved the 2017-2018 band handbook;
- approved the Washington D.C. trip for 8th grade students scheduled for April 20 22, 2018;
- approved the Pioneer Grove 10-year life safety survey;
- approved the revised Frankfort Square Park District and Summit Hill School District 161 intergovernmental agreement;
- authorized the administration to seek bids for snow removal services at District schools; and
- heard brief updates on District 843, supplemental bus transportation protocol, the national school lunch program, summer projects, the summer bridge program, the new kindergarten screener, and paraprofessional training.

Rich Marron President