

May 10, 2017 meeting Summit Hill District 161 Board Briefs

Serving students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, Frankfort Square, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Supt. Barb Rains at 815.469.9103

Board of Education members recognize, congratulate staff members

At Wednesday night's meeting, members of the Board recognized Those Who Excel nominees: Leslie DeBoer for the category of Administrator, Annette Barron for the category of Classroom Teacher, and Audrey Fields for the category of Student Support Personnel. Also recognized were Matt Tadla and Lori Dusek for earning the Blue Ribbon Award from IAHPERD for Arbury Hills School's PE program. Board Members also congratulated the April Wall of Gratitude honorees: District Office - Leslie DeBoer, Karen Diehl, Lisa Drenner, Sandi Fitzpatrick, Mary Ellen Graff, Carol Grant, Tammy Miller, Barb Rains, Doug Wiley, and Terri Witt; Arbury Hills School - Missy Aleo, Nicole Druktenis, Christine Hudziak, Laura Kinnan, Jennifer Lynch, John Snipes, Susan Stachler, and Dianna Wagner; Dr. Julian Rogus School - Lynne Barnes, Francie Boss, Kristine Bowen, Emily Carey, Joyce Chakos, Judy Chathas, Stephanie Daley, Sandra Ellis, Joy Gallivan, Joelle Gary, Katelyn Hunkler, Cathy Kluge, Pam Maynard, Katie Mecher, Megan Mefford, Ashley Pickens, Michael Ruffalo, Tara Russell, Tracey Schimke, Amy Thormeyer, Wendy Webster, and Kim Zylka; Frankfort Square School - Anita Brown, Kelly, Collins, Megan Cullen, Christina Doherty, Audrey Fields, Jessica Howard, Lisa Hyde, Jason Isdonas, Robert Jeffrey, Cathi McNeil, Tina Prorok, Jodi Reyes, and Amanda Sabo; Indian Trail School - Lisa Cisneros, Lauren Clough, Mary Alice McClain, Katie McGrath, Patsy Pfeiffer, Maggie Rees, Lucy Rios, and Dana Wright; Summit Hill Jr. High - Annette Barron, Colin Bradley, Elizabeth Braun, Scott Cancialosi, Ken Cronin, Michael Deutscher, Steven Evenhouse, Kathryn Hopkins, Anna King, Mollie Marshall, Mike McDonald, Laura Meagher, Amanda Park, Dan Pierson, Sara Pustz, Susan Quilantan, Roxanne Rodgers, Scott Smalter, Agnes Soch, Patrick Sullivan, and Kristina Turek; and Walker School -Tara Boudreau, Maura Carroll, Jason Collins, Rose Dampf, Laura Goebel, and Amanda Talty.

In personnel matters, the Board

- approved the employment of Holly Dominik and Ashley Pickens as teachers;
- approved the employment of Angela Carlton, ESY teacher; Charmaine Hall, ESY Speech Language Pathologist; and Anita Franklin, ESY paraprofessional; and
- approved a child care leave.

In other matters, the Board

- appointed members as follows: Mrs. Murphy, Frankfort Township Planning Commission, and Mr. Martin as the alternate; Mrs. Martin, SHEF, and Mrs. Murphy as the alternate; Mrs. Borgens, IASB Governing Board, and Mr. Marron as the alternate; Mr. Faber, Three Rivers Governing Board, and Mr. Marron as the alternate; Mrs. Borgens, Mr. Faber, and Mrs. Martin, Policy Committee, with Mr. Marron as the alternate: Mr. Leonard, Parent Teacher Advisory Committee, and Mrs. Borgens as the alternate; Mr. Martin, PERA, with Mr. Leonard as the alternate; Mr. Marron, Supt. Advisory for Board Goal 1, and Mr. Leonard as the alternate; Mrs. Borgens, Supt. Advisory for Board Goal 2, and Mrs. Murphy as the alternate; Mrs. Martin, Supt. Advisory for Board Goal 3, and Mr. Marron as the alternate, and Mr. Faber, Supt. Advisory for Board Goal 4, and Mr. Martin as the alternate; and
- approved SB7 certified job descriptions for the 2017-18 school year.