Summit Hillings of Frankfort, Mokena and Hillings of Frankfort, Mokena and

March 22, 2017 meeting

Summit Hill District 161 Board Briefs

Serving 3,000+ students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Supt. Barb Rains at 815.469.9103

Board congratulates Wall of Gratitude honorees for the month of March

At Wednesday night's meeting, the Board of Education congratulated the March Wall of Gratitude honorees as follows: Administrative Center - Leslie Deboer and Barb Rains; Arbury Hills School - Mary Bussema, Laura Cissell, Laura Jo DeFalco, Stacy DeJong, Linda Delegatto, Jody Diehl, Christina Doherty, Nicole Druktenis, Laura Kinnan, Mary Leonard, Elizabeth Nieken, Bethany Nunley, Susan Stachler, Bernie Swiatkowski-Smietana, and Dianna Wagner; Frankfort Square School - Kelly Collins, Jessica Howard, Lisa Hyde, Jason Isdonas, and Jodi Reyes; Indian Trail School - Ann Petrovich and Dana Wright; Summit Hill Jr. High - Katie Barry, Elizabeth Braun, Tom Chrusciel, Kim Coughlin, Michael Deutscher, Rhonda Furmanek, Ryan Hagen, Andrea Kelly, Anna King, Mollie Marshall, Mike McDonald, Cris Polanco, Agnes Soch, Patrick Sullivan, and Kristina Turek.

In personnel matters, the Board

- approved the employment of Meghan Bednarz and Lisa Blakenbuehler;
- accepted the retirement of Hugh Sumner;
- accepted the resignation of Terry Jones; and
- approved a FMLA request.

In other matters, the Board

- awarded the following employment contracts for the 2017-18 school year: Superintendent Barb Rains, \$161,883; Principal Francie Boss, \$85,000; Assistant Principal Colin Bradley, \$74,551; Assistant Principal Maura Carroll, \$72,100; Director of Special Education Leslie DeBoer, \$100,000; Principal Laura Goebel, \$99,047; Principal Jason Isdonas, \$93,459; Principal Dan Pierson, \$111,827; Principal Michael Ruffalo, \$121,812; Director of Curriculum John Snipes, \$100,000; Director of Finance Doug Wiley, \$120,099; and Principal Dana Wright, \$93,015;
- awarded 11 teachers second-year probationary contracts, nine teachers third-year probationary contracts, 13 teachers fourth-year probationary contracts, and 24 teachers tenure contracts for the 2017-2018 school year;
- approved the release of six probationary teachers;
- approved a contract with F.E. Moran for the replacement of HVAC condenser units at Walker School:
- approved a contract with Filoto Roofing for the replacement of the Rogus School roof;
- continued a discussion related to the St. Francis Road and Frankfort Square Road intersection;
- heard a discussion on the 2016-2017 amended budget;
- heard an updated on property tax freeze legislation; and
- heard an update on building and grounds projects.