

February 22, 2017 meeting

Summit Hill District 161 Board Briefs

Serving 3,000+ students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Supt. Barb Rains at 815.469.9103

Board of Education congratulates Wall of Gratitude honorees for February

At Wednesday night's meeting, members of the Board congratulated the February Wall of Gratitude honorees: Administrative Center - Leslie DeBoer, Shaun Mooney, and Barb Rains; Arbury Hills - Mary Bussema, Christine Hudziak, John Snipes, Susan Stachler, Bill Tedeschi, Laura Vlosak, and Cathryn Connolly; Dr. Julian Rogus School - Francie Boss, Kristine Bowen, Laura Carlson, Christine Ciraulo, Stephanie Daley, Kathleen Dompeling, Joy Gallivan, Gary Jablonski, Rachel Johnston, Kathleen Lundstrom, Sue McCarthy, Katie Mecher, Joanna Olszta, Michael Ruffalo, Ann Spadoni, Amanda Werniak, and Kim Zylka; Frankfort Square School - Anita Brown, Megan Cullen, Laura Fifer, Jessica Howard, Jason Isdonas, and Tina Prorok; Indian Trail School - Deniz Aslan, Mary Alice McClain, Katie McGrath, Jonah Schneider, and Dana Wright; Walker School - Amy Bednarz, Shelby Cramer, Kathy Crick, Tina Dalfonso, Mary Dempsey, Laura Dermody, Michael Doody, Kelly Higgins, Marianne Hourihan, Colleen Maranto, Jen Medendorp, Kristy Milazzo, Lona Mucha, Steve Radostits, Julie Sajewich, Kristin Schaefer, Agnes Soch, and Jim Welsh; SHJH - Andrea Kelly, Jill Lewkow, Stacey Marinucci, and Beth Zinsky.

Student re-registration process begins March 1; \$30 discount on fees through May 1

District parents will be utilizing the online student re-registration and payment process for all returning students for the upcoming 2017-18 school year. This process helps the District adequately plan for the upcoming year to retain the best teachers for verified student enrollment. link to the re-registration Beginning March 1, а form will be available www.studentregistration.org During online re-registration, current student information can be confirmed and updated. To access the site, parents will go to www.studentregistration.org then enter their child's Access ID and Password that is listed in the letter to parents to be mailed shortly. The re-registration fee for the 2017-18 school year is \$120 for students grades 1-8 through May 1, 2017. After that date the fee will be \$150. The District will continue to accommodate those who do not wish to pay online. These individuals may go online to complete the re-registration form and then come to the District Administrative Center, 20100 South Spruce Drive in Frankfort, to pay by check or cash. A payment plan is available. District 161 will be assuming responsibility for cross checking current family addresses with its residency software program. The District plans to complete its parent database cross check prior to the start of the 2017-18 school year. By doing so, a family who may not be residents would be required to enroll in their resident school district rather than starting the year in District 161.

In personnel matters, the Board

- employed Laura Carlson and Catherine Antis as paraprofessionals;
- employed Samantha Rangel as a learning center aide;
- employed Jessica Newby as a lunchroom supervisor;
- accepted the resignation of Julie Hileman; and
- accepted the resignation of Laura Carlson as a library aide.

In other matters, the Board

 heard a presentation from Arbury Hills students and staff showcasing the new NGSS science curriculum, STEMscopes;

- recognized the Walker boys basketball team for placing first in the Des Plaines Valley Conference tournament;
- recognized Walker student Danny Rispoli for placing 1st in the District Spelling Bee with Jillian Mills as the runner up;
- recognized the Spartan competition cheerleaders for placing 2nd in the IESA State Cheerleading Competition;
- approved the second and final reading of Board Policies 2:30, 2:120, 2:125, 2:200, 2:220, 2:250, 3:40, 3:50, 4:10, 4:55, 4:60, 4:80, 4:110, 4:130, 4:150, 4:170, 4:175, 5:10, 5:30, 5:60, 5:100, 5:185, 5:190, 5:250, 5:260, 5:280, 5:330, 6:15, 6:50, 6:60, 6:140, 6:145, 6:160, 6:170, 6:340, 7:15, 7:30, 7:50, 7:60, 7:70, 7:190, 7:250, 7:260, 7:270, 7:305, 7:310, 7:340, 8:30, 8:70, and 8:100;
- concluded, after a thorough review of possible locations, that the Lincoln Way East fieldhouse will be the site for 8th grade graduation;
- set the amended budget hearing to be April 26;
- discussed the St. Francis Road study;
- heard that the annual Safe Schools meeting will be on March 20;
- heard an update on the TRIA building list; and
- heard a report on the 5-year financial plan.

Rich Marron Stacey Borgens David Faber Pam Kohlbacher George Leonard Patricia Martin Richard Ward President Vice President Secretary Member Member Member Member