

## December 14, 2016 meeting <u>Summit Hill District 161</u> Board Briefs

Serving 3,000+ students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Supt. Barb Rains at 815.469.9103

## Board of Education congratulates Wall of Gratitude honorees for December

At Wednesday night's meeting, members of the Board congratulated the December Wall of Gratitude honorees: Arbury Hills School - Stacy DeJong and Christine Hudziak; District Office - Leslie DeBoer, Karen Diehl, Sandi Fitzpatrick, Mary Ellen Graff, Carol Grant, Tammy Miller, Barb Rains, and Terri Witt; Dr. Julian Rogus School - Chris Mena and David Ruklic; Indian Trail School - Joe Renardo; Walker - Martin Acevedo, Amy Bednarz, Ron Buoscio, Maura Carroll, Jason Collins, Kathy Crick, Tina Dalfonso, Peg Davault, Mary Dempsey, Michael Doody, Laura Goebel, Lydia Hjort, Sharon James, Tammy Johnson, Dotty Kirwan, Dawn Krueger, Jill Lewkow, Kristi Linke, Jessica Malas, Steve Radostits, Stefani Rybczynski, Agnes Soch, and Scott Wagstaff; and SHJH - Megan Craven, Dan Pierson, Cristina Polanco, and Lisa Strzykalski.

## In personnel matters, the Board

- approved the employment of Jenny Arrivo, Cathryn Connolly, and Amanda Rudofski as FMLA teachers;
- approved the employment of Natalie Pinski and Mary Boyle as paraprofessionals; and
- accepted the resignations of Diane Boulanger, Mary Filicette, and Jennifer Bernat.

## In other matters, the Board

- participated in a presentation by Frankfort Square School on how students navigate Think Central to take online assessments;
- approved the certificate of tax levy resolution for the 2016 levy in the amounts of: Education Fund, \$23,870,000; Operations & Maintenance Fund, \$3,018,000; Transportation Fund, \$1,356,000; Working Cash Fund, \$310,000; Illinois Municipal Retirement Fund, \$250,000; Social Security Fund, \$245,000; Tort Immunity Fund, \$220,000; Special Education Fund, \$460,000; and Bond and Interest Fund, \$5,868,463 for a total levy in the amount of \$35,597,463;
- authorized the Board President to sign the Certification of Compliance with the Truth in Taxation Act for the 2016 levy;
- authorized the submittal of the 2016 comprehensive annual financial report to the Association of School Business Officials for examination;
- accepted the Collective Bargaining Agreement with the Summit Hill Council of the American Federation of Teachers, Local 604, AFT/IFT, AFL-CIO for the years 2016-17 through 2019-20 in accordance with the tentatively agreed to documents;
- approved the Summit Hill District 161 non-certified FY16-17 hourly rate proposal;
- discussed the draft of the 2017-2018 District calendar;
- heard an update on the Supt. Advisory for Board Goal 1 assessments and grading;
- heard that the Summit Program review would begin in Fall, 2017; and
- heard updates on the AESOP implementation, buildings and grounds, and the HVAC controls project.

David Faber Pam Kohlbacher Secretary Member