

November 9, 2011 meeting

Summit Hill District 161 Board Briefs

Serving 3,498 students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Interim Superintendent Barb Rains at 815.469.9103

Board to host Town Hall Meeting on December 1 to gather community input

Members of the Board of Education will continue to gather community input before deciding whether to use an outside search firm to help with the hiring process for the District's next Superintendent. The Board will host a Town Hall meeting on December 1 at 7 p.m. at the District Administrative Center. At the meeting, community members will have the opportunity to share their thoughts on what characteristics the community is seeking in the next Superintendent.

Board Members honored on School Board Members' Day

At Wednesday's meeting, the District joined other district's across the state to say thank you to our School Board members for their commitment and contributions to our schools and students. Members were presented with an apple and certificate from students at Dr. Julian Rogus School.

Township Highway Commissioner honored with Standing Ovation Award

Bill Carlson, Frankfort Township Highway Commissioner, was named the first recipient of the Board of Education's Standing Ovation award. Mr. Carlson was honored for his Spring Cleanup program. Each spring for the last eight years, Mr. Carlson, has offered Summit Hill District 161 students the opportunity to serve the community through his annual Spring Clean Up project. Interested students clear debris along the major roads in Frankfort to aid in the efforts of the mowing crews. This past year, on behalf of the cleanup efforts performed by student athletes and members of the Summit Hill National Junior Honor Society, Mr. Carlson presented District 161 a check for \$1,500.

Mary Drew School staff and students recognized for ISAT achievements

Mary Drew School students and staff were recognized for ranking #20 in the list of the Top Chicagoland Schools from Cook, DuPage, Lake, Will, and McHenry counties. Students achieved 98.5% meets/exceeds combined score on the ISATs.

In personnel matters, the Board

- accepted the resignations of Dean Gerdes, Kim Hauser, Rosanna Mooth, Lisa Roemer, and Nicole Murawski:
- accepted the resignation/retirement of Carol Tatro at the end of the 2012-13 school year;
- accepted the resignation/retirement of Lin Miller, Paula Miller, Maureen Fisher, and Gail Klein at the end of the 2013-14 school year;
- accepted the resignation/retirement of Pat Lee at the end of the 2014-15 school year;
- accepted the resignation/retirement of Jane Hollowell, Joyce Larson, and Bonnie Pasky at the end of the 2015-16 school year;
- approved the employment of Karen Labedz as a teacher; and
- approved the employment of Nicole Murawski as a clerical aide at Walker School.

In other matters, the Board

- heard a presentation from Dr. Julian Rogus School students and staff;
- recognized Interim Superintendent Barb Rains as the recipient of the Administrator of the Year award from the Illinois Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance;
- approved the First Reading of Board Policies 2:250, 3:30, 3:60, 3:70, 4:80, 5:90, 5:100, 5:125, 5:200, 5:240, 6:60, 6:150, 6:300 and 7:305; and
- heard an update on the ISS room.

Mary Kenny Joy Murphy Denise A. Lenz Stacey Borgens Sean William Doyle Dee Molinare George Perros President Vice President Secretary Member Member Member Member