

October 26, 2016 meeting

Summit Hill District 161 Board Briefs

Serving 3,000+ students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Supt. Barb Rains at 815.469.9103

Board of Education participates in jet toy design challenge with Walker students

At Wednesday night's meeting, Board Members teamed with Walker sixth graders to participate in a jet toy design challenge. Tech teacher Erin Boers explained how the jet toy is designed and how the project involves components of science, math, engineering, and technology. The jet toy design challenge is one of two junior action lab modules that will become part of sixth grade tech time during second semester.

Board of Education congratulates Wall of Gratitude honorees for October

At Wednesday's meeting, members of the Board congratulated the October Wall of Gratitude honorees: Administrative Center: Shaun Mooney and Kevin Perkins; Arbury Hills: John Buchanan, Mary Bussema, Laura Cissell, Laura Jo DeFalco, Linda Delegatto, Lori Dusek, Carla Ervick, Sajida Farooqi, Nicole Harris, Christine Hudziak Laura Kinnan, John Snipes, Jody Tedeschi, and Laura Vlosak; Dr. Julian Rogus: Kristy Balta, Jody Bochenek, Joyce Chakos, Stephanie Daley, Kathy Dompeling, Kyle Fischer, Pam Maynard, Sue McCarthy, Jamie McClellan, Katie Mecher, Chris Mena, Robin Millner, Jenna O'Callaghan, Christi Perch, Ashley Pickens, Joy Reno, Rich Schereck, Agnes Soch, Ann Spadoni, and Melissa Thomas; Frankfort Square: Anita Brown, Lisa Hyde, and Debra Murphy; Indian Trail: Danielle Capps, Diane Dankovich, Melissa Farrell, Kristin Heenan, Christina Horan, Mary Alice McClain, Patricia Pfeiffer, Joe Renardo and Jen Skrobanski; Walker: Anita Becker, Erin Boers, Maura Carroll, Lisa Chikerotis, Kathy Crick, Tina Dalfonso, Rose Dampf, Tracy DeCesare, Laura Dermody, Holly Dominik, Mike Doody, Lauren Driscoll, Lydia Hjort, Jen Hodys, Marianne Hourihan, Dawn Krueger, Kristi Linke, Jessica Malas, Colleen Maranto, Kristy Milazzo, Lauren Mondt, Lauren Neubauer, Linda O'Dell, Maureen Pall, Stefani Rybczynski, Julie Sajewich, Cheryl Santefort, Shari Stokoski and Pam Tucker; and SHJH: Kathy Macdonell, Roxanne Rodgers, and Lisa Strzykalski.

In personnel matters, the Board

- approved the employment of Bonnie Pasky as a FMLA teacher;
- approved the employment of Jennifer Adams as district wide substitute nurse; and
- accepted the resignation of Cathy Antis.

In other matters, the Board

- accepted the 2016-2017 School Improvement Plans for schools within District 161 and the District Improvement Plan;
- accepted gifts, with appreciation, from Arbury Hills STARS in the amount of \$800; Dr. Julian Rogus RESCO in the amount of \$8,027; Frankfort Square SCO in the amount of \$2,835; Indian Trail SCO in the amount of \$1,238; Hilda Walker SCO in the amount of \$1,758; Summit Hill Jr. High SCO in the amount of \$1,285; Summit Hill Jr. High/Hilda Walker Band Boosters in the amount of \$1,482; Summit Hill Jr. High/Hilda Walker Athletic Boosters in amount of \$4,259:
- discussed IASB resolutions coming before the delegation assembly in November at the convention;
- heard that the release of the IL School Report Card will occur on October 31 at http://www.illinoisreportcard.com;
- heard a presentation on the PARCC results;
- discussed options for the replacement of HVAC units at Walker;

