

June 10, 2015 meeting Summit Hill District 161 Board Briefs

Serving 3,276 students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Supt. Barb Rains at 815.469.9103

Members of the Board of Education recognize Wall of Gratitude honorees

At Wednesday night's meeting, members of the Board recognized the following staff members as honorees for the month of May for the Wall of Gratitude: Administrative Center - Kathy Klein and Shaun Mooney; Arbury Hills - Christine Aguirre, Laura Cissell, Jody Diehl, Lori Dusek, Carla Ervick, Laura Kinnan, Bethany Nunley, Tracey Schimke, and John Snipes; Frankfort Square - Laura Fifer and Jason Isdonas; Indian Trail: Chris Coffey, Kathy Pirkle, Jonah Schneider, Linda Schober, Jody Tedeschi, and Dana Wright; Walker - Anita Becker, Maria Bullion, Tracy DeCesare, Julie Hein, Lydia Hjort, Marianne Hourihan, Dottie Kirwan, Dawn Krueger, Nikki Krzebiot, Kristi Linke, Jessica Malas, Jen Medendorp, Diane Mears-Mustafa, Linda O'Dell, Meghan Sepessy, Agnes Soch, and Heather Stupay; and Summit Hill Jr High - Vivian Beck, Lisa Carlson, Thomas Chrusciel, Kimberly Coughlin, Rhonda Furmanek, Catherine Goddard, Pam Hodgson, Kathryn Hopkins, Amanda Kocna, Stacey Marinucci, Michael McDonald, Jack Mecher, Cheryl Michals, Sarah O'Keefe, Fred Pufahl, and Scott Smalter. The total number of recipients in the first year of this Board of Education honor was 558.

Board approves new Assistant Principal at Summit Hill Jr. High

At Wednesday night's meeting, the Board unanimously approved hiring Colin Bradley as Assistant Principal at Summit Hill Jr. High School, effective July 1. For the last three years, Mr. Bradley has been the Academic Advisor/ Dean of Students at Dirksen Jr. High in Joliet District 86.

In personnel matters, the Board

- approved the employment of Lily Shinn as a social worker;
- approved the employment of Maura Carrol as a social worker/pre-K coordinator;
- approved the employment of Amanda Werniak as a special education teacher;
- approved the employment of Kathleen Ruzanski, Carolyn Stigter, Kevin Micks, Erica Munoz, and Victoria Piepenbrink as ESY paraprofessionals;
- approved the employment of Erin Kmiecki as a district wide substitute nurse;
- approved the employment of Rose Dampf as a LPN;
- accepted the resignation of Kelly Devereux;
- approved the administrative FY16 salary proposal as follows: Supt. Barb Rains \$152,000; Kathryn Klein - \$115,379; Bridget Nolan - \$92,838; John Snipes - \$82,886; Michael Ruffalo -\$114,375; Jason Isdonas - \$87,753; Dana Wright - \$87,337; and Frances Boss - \$66,105; and
- approved a business services agreement.

In other matters, the Board

- accepted gifts from Arbury Hills SCO in the amount of \$3,699; Rogus SCO in the amount of \$3,528.33; Frankfort Square SCO in the amount of \$7,236.45; Indian Tail SCO in the amount of \$3,557.08; Hilda Walker SCO in the amount of \$12,017.46; Summit Hill Jr. High Band Boosters in the amount of \$5,058; Summit Hill Jr. High Athletic Boosters in the amount of \$6,400, and Summit Hill Jr. High SCO in the amount of \$9,600;
- authorized the submission of the General State Aid Entitlement Claim for 2014-2015;
- authorized the submission of the Annual Claim for Pupil Transportation Reimbursement for 2014-2015;
- confirmed the existence of hazardous transportation routes for the 2014-2015 school year;

- authorized administration to submit any state and federal grants available on behalf of Summit Hill School District;
- adopted the prevailing wage rates; and
- tabled the discussion of the architect of record process.

Rich Marron President