

# May 28, 2014 meeting Summit Hill District 161 Board Briefs

Serving 3,341 students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Supt. Barb Rains at 815.469.9103

## Board of Education recognizes exemplary students, state track qualifiers

At the May 28 meeting, the Board acknowledged students recognized by the faculty of their school for their exemplary academic progress during the 2013-14 school year. The following students were recognized: Aleen Beituni, Arbury Hills; Connor Heaton, Frankfort Square; Diamond Liggett, Indian Trail; Conor Sayers, Rogus; Chris Capperino, Walker; and Deidre Dahleen, SHJH. Additionally, the Board recognized students who qualified in the State 7AA and 8AA track meet: Cameron White, Josh Ohiku, Jackson Ritter, Michael Honchar, John Cooke, Mike Trost, Kelsey Cappel, Taylor McCourt, Sarah Miranda, Hailey Moustis, Kaley Sheehan, Tyler Milhouse, Katarina Savic, Courtney Williams, Hailey Blanchard, Grace Casey, Amanda Logan, Sydney Marchal, Grace Sheridan, Lani Grayer, Lauren Hunter, and managers Erin Cooke, Madi Corey, and Ranya Darwish.

### Board of Education sets meeting dates

The Board set its regular meeting schedule for the 2014-15 school year as follows: July 9, August 13 and 27, September 10 and 24, October 8 and 22, November 12, December 10, January 14 and 28, February 11 and 25, March 11 and 25, April 15 and 29, May 13 and 27, and June 10. Meetings begin at 7 p.m. and are held at the District Administrative Center.

#### In personnel matters, the Board

- accepted the resignation of Debra Black effective at the end of the 2013-14 school year as she is retiring from the teaching profession;
- · accepted the resignation of Christa Deporto;
- approved the employment of Megan Shea, Christine Hudziak, Sara Pustz, Chris Mena, Wendy Webster, and Mollie Marshal as teachers for the 2014 2015 school year; and Mary Hornik and Amanda Sabo as speech pathologists for the 2014-2015 school year.

### In other matters, the Board

- heard a Common Core presentation by Rogus 4<sup>th</sup> graders about their learning experiences centered around the Desert Biome;
- discussed the special education coordinator/instructional support job description;
- discussed the accelerated reader program;
- approved the following FY15 administrative salaries: Bridget Nolan, \$91,286; Mike Ruffalo, \$113,891; Pam Hodgson, \$105,287; Dan Pierson, \$90,147; Jason Isdonas, \$86,286; Barb Rains, \$147,286; John Wade, \$70,021, and Dana Wright, \$70,021;
- approved the 2014 2015 Student/Parent Handbook;
- approved a one-year lease with Cornerstone Church for space at Mary Drew School;
- approved the second and final reading of Board Policies 2:30, 2:110, 4:30, 5:10, 5:30, 5:35, 5:125, 5:180, 5:190, 5:240, 7:70, 7:180 and 7:190;
- acknowledged the summer schedule for 12-month secretarial and custodial staff members;
- was made aware of summer professional development and curriculum work that has been scheduled; and
- heard that the Superintendent Advisory (Technology) committee recently met to review the technology teacher job description, the plan for the action lab modules, and also deployment of tablets to core curriculum teachers at Walker and SHJH in the fall.

Sean William Doyle	Rich Marron
President	Vice President