

May 13, 2015 meeting

Summit Hill District 161 Board Briefs

Serving 3,276 students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Supt. Barb Rains at 815.469.9103

Members of the Board of Education recognize students, staff members, and parents

Wall of Gratitude honorees

The following staff members were recognized as honorees for the Wall of Gratitude: Administrative Center - Shaun Mooney, Hugh Sumner, and Frank Zajac; Arbury Hills - Lisa Drenner, Christine Hudziak, Ed Johnstone, Edward Kurnat, Karen McKay, and Joanna Olszta; Rogus - Anita Biedermann, Maura Carroll, Lori Coverick, Kathleen Dompeling, Sajida Farooqi, Mary Hamm, Debb Hankey, Katelyn Hunkler, Pam Maynard, Jamie McClellan, Katie Mecher, Christi Perch, Penny Petrulis, Dana Porreca, Darlene Schultz, Sarah Turek, Molly Ward, Wendy Webster, and Terri Witt; Frankfort Square - Kelly Collins, Tina Prorok, and Jaclyn Stanfield; Indian Trail - Danielle Capps, Diane Dankovich, Melissa Farrell, Kim Grice, Kristin Heenan, Katie McGrath, Kathy Pirkle, Jennifer Skrobanski, Jody Tedeschi, William Tedeschi, and Dana Wright; Walker - Anita Becker, Jason Collins, Marianne Hourihan, Jen Medendorp, and Scott Wagstaff; and Summit Hill Jr. High - Kim Coughlin, Steven Evenhouse, Katie Goddard, Kathy MacDonnell, Sarah O'Keefe, and Agnes Soch. To date, 504 staff members have been recognized as Wall of Gratitude honorees.

IESA State Bowling Tournament

Summit Hill Jr. High boys, as a bowling team, placed 8th out of 46 teams at the State Bowling Tournament. The girls, as a team, placed 13th out of 43 teams.

IGSMA State Band Contest

The SHJH Symphonic Band earned a Division I rating at the IGSMA State Band contest. The SHJH Concert Band earned a Division II rating at the IGSMA State Band contest.

IGSMA State Choir Contest

The SHJH Spartan Singers earned a Division I rating at the IGSMA State Choir contest.

State Science Fair

Several SHJH students were recognized for their placement in the State Science Fair.

Walker Scholastic Bowl team

Several 5^{th} and 6^{th} grade students were recognized for their efforts during the season and in the regional tournament.

Also recognized:

- Indian Trail Music Teacher Joe Renardo is among 213 quarterfinalists from 194 cities across 42 states selected for the Music Educator Award presented by the Recording Academy and the Grammy Foundation.
- Director of Curriculum Kathy Klein and SHJH Principal Pam Hodgson were selected to receive Lincoln Way District 210's Community Extra Effort Recognition Award for their contributions to curricular articulation.
- Walker Principal Dr. Daniel Pierson was recognized for earning his doctorate degree.
- Summit Hill Those Who Excel recipients were recognized: Indian Trail teacher Pam Wandersen in the classroom teacher category and the Arbury Hills STARS SCO in the team category.

In personnel matters, the Board

accepted the resignation of Jennifer Rooney; and

 approved the employment of Laura Siamis as a special education teacher for the 2015-2016 school year.

In other matters, the Board

- appointed Patricia Martin as the Special Education District 843 alternate;
- appointed Rich Ward as the Frankfort Township Planning Commission representative and Dave Faber as the alternate:
- appointed Patricia Martin as the SHEF liaison and Dave Faber as the alternate;
- appointed Stacey Borgens as the IASB Governing Board representative and Rich Marron as the alternate;
- appointed Rich Marron as the Three Rivers Governing Board representative and Stacey Borgens as the alternate;
- appointed Pam Kohlbacher, Rich Ward, and Rich Marron to the Policy Committee and Stacey Borgens as the alternate;
- appointed George Leonard to the Parent-Teacher Advisory Committee and Stacey Borgens as the alternate;
- appointed Rich Ward as the Performance Evaluation Reform Act liaison and Pam Kohlbacher as the alternate;
- approved the 2015-2016 Parent/Student Handbook;
- approved the 2015-2016 Band Handbook;
- approved the non-certified minimum hourly rate at \$10.00;
- approved a five percent hourly rate increase for paraprofessionals;
- approved a 1.7% hourly rate increase for all other non-certified staff members;
- approved an additional five percent increase for employees #103 and #107;
- approved a one-time payment of \$500 for employee #109 per the agreement with the Superintendent;
- set the 12-month non-certified staff summer schedule which runs from June 15 through August 7; and
- heard an update on the May 29 Teacher Institute.

Rich Marron Stacey Borgens David Faber Pam Kohlbacher George Leonard Patricia Martin Richard Ward President Vice President Secretary Member Member Member Member