

# April 10, 2013 meeting Summit Hill District 161 Board Briefs

Serving 3,318 students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Supt. Barb Rains at 815.469.9103

## Walker School programming changes presented at Board meeting

Beginning in August, sixth graders at Walker School will get a taste of junior high by switching classes during the day. Principal Mike Ruffalo and Assistant Principal Dana Wright shared the programming changes at Wednesday's Board Meeting. A key change is the fact that sixth-grade teachers will no longer escort the entire homeroom of students to and from encore classes. In an effort to better monitor the day-to-day travels of sixth graders, the teachers requested that sixth-grade classes be moved to the first floor. The rationale takes into consideration student management and the existing building arrangement. Additionally, Walker staff will be focusing on teaming. Sixth grade will have three teams with five teachers per team. Fifth grade will feature three teams—five teachers will work on two teams and one team will have four teachers. Fifth-grade students will switch only within their team of teachers. The teaming creates small schools within a large school while preparing sixth graders for Summit Hill Jr. High.

### **Board of Education recognizes SHJH students**

At the April 10 meeting, the Board of Education recognized members of the IESA State Bowling Team, IESA State Chess Tournament participants, and State Science Fair participants. Bowlers recognized included John Donovan, Brendan Rowe, Olivia Heppeler, Jack Chasteen and Justin McCourt. Chess players recognized included Anthony Eatinger, Yousaf Ilyas, Reyal Jardine, Owen Doyle, Holly Ramos, Luke McGuire, Chris Siwecki, Noah Healy, Matt Shemanski, Carson Dietze, Nick Brattoli, Ryan Murphy, Matt Young and Ben Shin. Science Fair participants recognized by the Board included Carmel Bumaa, Grace Cooke, Mimi Dahlin, John Dillon, Noor Hasan, Jessica Helwig, Luke McGuire, Kiley Meade, Ryan Murphy, Elizabeth Reynolds, Olivia Rydzewski, Tyler Styrsky, David Werner, Catherine Yuan, and Jack Zinsky.

#### In personnel matters, the Board

- employed Breanna Pluth as a teacher to fill a family medical leave; and
- approved the resignation of Director of Business Susan Krautstrunk and Lunchroom Supervisor McKenzie Shetrone.

#### In other matters, the Board

- approved setting the last day of school to be June 3, 2013;
- approved a non-certified hourly rate increase of two percent for the 2013-2014 school year;
- heard a report on the Superintendent Advisory Committee on Wellness;
- approved a reimbursement for two non-certified staff members;
- ratified the Memorandum of Understanding between the Board of Education and Teachers Union; and
- heard that the student re-registration period will open May 1, with the \$20 savings on registration fees available from May 1 to June 14.