

April 15, 2015 meeting

Summit Hill District 161 Board Briefs

Serving 3,275 students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Supt. Barb Rains at 815.469.9103

Wall of Gratitude honorees for March recognized by Board of Education

At the April 15 meeting, members of the Board recognized the following staff members as honorees for the Wall of Gratitude in March: Mary Ellen Graff, Kevin Perkins, and Hugh Sumner from the Administrative Center; Rita Binzen, Thomas Blaney, Lisa Drenner, Lisa Dunn, Lori Dusek, Ed Johnstone, Karen McKay, and Laura Vlosak from Arbury Hills School; Anita Biedermann, Dawn Goshko, Joyce Larson. Pam Maynard, and Terri Witt from Rogus School; Barb Almuddaris, Kaaren Bailey, Chris Coffey, Kelly Collins, Carla Dusek, Laura Fifer, Megan Freeman, Stacey Froeschle, Deb Hebel, Jessica Howard, Lisa Hyde, Jason Isdonas, Kristen Jastrzab, Robert Jeffrey, Sheri Jendersak, Karen McKay, Cathi McNeil, Debra Murphy, Lucy Perz, Jennifer Pospichal, Tina Prorok, Jodi Reyes, Marlo Rodgers, Nancy Sobczak, and Jaclyn Stanfield from Frankfort Square; Danielle Capps, Melissa Farrell, Joann Hand, Kristin Heenan, Christina Horan, Lauren Jurasits, Mary McClain, Kathleen McGrath, Amy Moss, Betsi Plese, Jennie Probst, Joe Renardo, Jonah Schneider, Jennifer Skrobanski, Pam Wandersen, and Dana Wright from Indian Trail; and Laura Goebel, Sharon James, Jennifer Matos, Danielle Mittelstadt, Kim Mladinic, Lona Mucha, Linda O'Dell, Dan Pierson, Meghan Sepessy, Agnes Soch, and Heather Stupay from Walker School. 449 staff members have been recognized this school year as Wall of Gratitude recipients.

Board Members Jennifer Werner and Sean William Doyle end tenure on Board of Education

Board Member Jen Werner and Board President Sean William Doyle were honored at the April 15 meeting for their years of service on the Summit Hill School District 161 Board of Education. Mrs. Werner served on the Board from 2013-2015. She was instrumental in ensuring that the Parent-Student Handbook was clear and concise, supported District outreach to connect with the larger community, and has led the cheer in her relentless dedication to make Summit Hill the best it could be. She received IASB's recognition plaque for unselfish service to the school community. She also received a small token of appreciation on behalf of District staff and administration. The plaque and gift were presented to Mrs. Werner by Alyssa Werner and Jacob Werner on behalf of all the students in District 161.

Mr. Doyle was recognized for his 12 years of dedicated service to Summit Hill. He was honored in a way that exemplified his spirit. A nomination letter on his behalf was entered in a state-wide program sponsored by the National School PR Association that honors individuals who have consistently gone above and beyond on behalf of their students and whose efforts have enhanced education and conveyed its importance to the community at large. The District was recently notified that Mr. Doyle has been named a recipient of an Award of Excellence in the 2015 Distinguished Service Awards Program. He also received IASB's recognition plaque for unselfish service to the school community and a token of appreciation on behalf of District staff and administration. The token reads, "It takes a big heart to help shape little minds." The plaque and gift were presented to Mr. Doyle by Liam Doyle and Owen Doyle on behalf of all the students in District 161.

In personnel matters, the Board

- approved the employment of Leslie DeBoer as the Extended School Year (ESY) coordinator;
- approved the employment of Keri Snow, Lauren Baker, Nathan Motykowski, and Mary Sandgren as ESY Individualized Instruction teachers;
- approved the employment of Kara McFadden and Kyrianne Lisiecki as ESY Special Education teachers;

- approved the employment of Regina Livingston and Alayna Speicher as ESY Early Childhood teachers;
- Mary Leonard, Lauren Mondt, and Leslie Swartz as ESY Speech Pathologists;
- approved the employment of Maura Carroll and Rachel Johnston as ESY Social Workers;
- approved the employment of Mary Fran Crum, ESY Occupational Therapist;
- approved the employment of Blair Drewke, ESY Board Certified Behavioral Analyst;
- approved the employment of Bernadette Swiatkowski, ESY Physical Therapist; and
- approved the employment of Roberta Kubik, Cathryn Connolly, Christine Aguirre, Amanda Werniak, Kelli Chlum, Daneen Klauba, Erin Buckley, Megan Ryan, Inez Davis, Kristina Turek, Wendy Carey, Cindy McFarland, Karen Steinke, Janeen Huppert, Kristen Person, Linnea Nemcek, Megan Mefford, Phillip Puente, Jaclyn Stanfield, Amanda Matusky, and Nicole Harris as ESY paraprofessionals.

In other matters, the Board

- set the last day of the 2014-2015 school year as June 10;
- approved a lease agreement with Frankfort Square Park District for space at Mary Drew School for FSPD's Before and After School Program beginning this fall;
- approved the Social Worker/Pre-K coordinator job description;
- approved certified job descriptions per Senate Bill 7;
- heard an update on the summer program enrollments for camps and athletics; and
- heard an update on the five-year building utilization plan.

Sean William Doyle Rich Marron David Faber Stacey Borgens Pam Kohlbacher Richard Ward Jennifer Werner President Vice President Secretary Member Member Member Member