Summit Hillings of Frankfort, Mokena and Hillings of Frankfort, Mokena and

March 13, 2013 meeting

Summit Hill District 161 Board Briefs

Serving 3,289 students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Supt. Barb Rains at 815.469.9103

Board of Education recognizes students and staff at Wednesday's meeting

The Board of Education recognized several students and staff members at its March 13 meeting. The evening began with the recognition of SHJH student Jack Zinsky for his efforts in the Will County Regional Spelling Bee. Jack earned runner-up honors.

The Walker Wildcats Basketball Team placed first in the Des Plaines Valley Conference. Coach Ron Buscio presented the team to the Board and acknowledged season highlights. Members of the team include Cade Arthur, Julian Barr, Cameron Bartmann, Jack Bertolani, Tyler Cech, Jake Dickhaut, Feri Durodola, Nicholas Easton, Zack Jurgens, Cole Kirschsieper, Ethan Lambrigger, Cameron Lee, Lucas Limpin, Sean McLaughlin, Myles Montaque, Marty O'Brien, Jackson Ritter, Ryan Ritter, Tyler Safarik, Cameron White, John Cooke, and Danny Curran.

Coach Lisa Carlson presented the Spartan Competition Cheerleaders who earned a First Place rating in the IESA State Championship. The squad includes Kayla Ballard, Marissa DeMeo, Kelly Hausner, Lauren Laird, Abby McMann, Brooke Mergenthaler, Bridget Millerick, Amber Pluzycki, Olivia Sterchele, Sydney Zilinskas, Abbey Devlin, Lexi Ehrhart, Taylor Vanderlaan, Kyra Krugman, Christa Mack, Hailey Maksymiak, Kaitlyn Moylan, Sam Myers, Julia Piper, Natalie Slobodnik, Maddie Smith, Bailey Sylvester, and Lauren Williams.

Young Authors winners were also recognized. They include Arbury Hills students Lukas Nightingale, Tyler Schmehl, Ryan Premon, and Grace Garrett; Rogus students Morgan Bailey, Theodore Boundas, Olivia Wols, and Julian Lee; Frankfort Square students Janie Clifton, Katherine Ehmen, Maria Lenard, and Alyssa LaFave; Indian Trail students Lucas Hanson, Luke Kelly, Joseph Kotze, and Sydney Smithgall; Walker students Emma Fishman and Grace McMann; and SHJH students Catherine Yuan and Jack Zinsky.

Summit Hill School District 161 and all its attendance centers were recognized by the Illinois State Board of Education for earning the Certificate of Recognition for the 2012-2013 school year. The recognition is pursuant to the standards for public schools set forth in the School Code of Illinois.

Additionally, District nominees for the state "Those Who Excel" competition were recognized. Local winners are Arbury Hills School volunteer Mrs. Janet Teters and Indian Trail Principal Dan Pierson.

In personnel matters, the Board

- approved the extension of the employment contracts through June 30, 2014 for Jeff Gerard, Kathy Klein, Christine Hudziak, Jason Isdonas, Mike Ruffalo, Dana Wright, Dan Pierson, Pam Hodgson, John Wade, Susan Krautstrunk, Jim Martin, and Bridget Nolan;
- employed Kelly Arthur, Anna King, and Samantha Catain to fill family medical leaves;
- employed Erin Jenczmonka and Angela Dugan as lunchroom supervisors;
- approved the resignation of Roberta Baker; and
- accepted the request of an extraordinary leave of employee 1913.

In other matters, the Board

- approved the First Reading of Board Policies 2:160, 4:45, 4:60, 6:65, 6:235 and 8:20;
- heard an update on the Summit Hill Jr. High health/PE curriculum; and
- heard an update on SHEF's Dancing with the Teachers Season 3 fundraiser.

Mary Kenny Joy Murphy Denise A. Lenz Stacey Borgens Sean William Doyle George Perros Denise Wildeveld President Vice President Secretary Member Member Member Member