

# March 11, 2015 meeting Summit Hill District 161 Board Briefs

Serving 3,276 students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Supt. Barb Rains at 815.469.9103

### Board of Education recognizes Spartan competition cheerleaders, SHEF

At the March 11 meeting, members of the Board recognized the Spartan competition cheerleaders and Coach Lisa Carlson for their efforts in placing 2<sup>nd</sup> in the ICCA State Cheerleading Competition and the IESA State Cheerleading Competition. Additionally, the Board recognized SHEF for its efforts in fund raising throughout the year. SHEF President Stefanie Flaris shared with Board Members that \$54,000 has been raised.

## Board acknowledges February honorees for our Wall of Gratitude

The following staff members were recognized as honorees for the Wall of Gratitude in February. Honorees from the Administrative Center are Karen Diehl, Sandi Fitzpatrick, Mary Ellen Graff, Carol Grant, Kevin Perkins, and Nancy Teschke. Arbury Hills honorees are Christine Aguirre, Lauren Baker, Ann Baud, Rita Binzen, John Buchanan, Laura Cissell, Jody Diehl, Lisa Drenner, Lisa Dunn, Lori Dusek, Carla Ervick, Christine Hudziak, Rachel Johnston, Kelly McGreehin, Nathan Motykowski, Bethany Nunley, John Snipes, Sue Stachler, and Laura Vlosak. Rogus School honorees are Elizabeth Barbeau, Anita Biedermann, Francie Boss, Kristine Bowen, Mary Bussema, Maura Carroll, Judy Chathas, Sajida Farooqi, Tina Gnade, Debb Hankey, Katelyn Hunkler, Gary Jablonski, Becky Kevilus, Regina Livingston, Suzi MacLeod, Pam Maynard, Jamie McClellan, Kara McFadden, Chris Mena, Penny Petrulis, Dana Porreca, Colleen Roberts, Mike Ruffalo, Rich Schereck, Sarah Turek, Christine Turk, and Teri Witt. Frankfort Square honorees are Rita Binzen, Anita Brown, Stacey Froeschle, Karen McKay, and Cathi McNeil. Indian Trail honorees are Diane Dankovich, Rod Guerrero, Amy Moss, Kathy Pirkle, Joe Renardo, Lucy Rios, Linda Schober, Jody Tedeschi, Bill Tedeschi, Pam Wandersen, and Dana Wright. Summit Hill Jr. High honorees are Scott Chromcak, Tom Chrusciel, Michael Deutscher, Katie Goddard, Kristen Granato, Tiffanie Jeffrey, Anna King, Jill Lewkow, Mollie Marshall, Mike McDonald, Beth Moore, Denise O'Donnell, Sara Pustz, Scott Smalter, Miryam Zayed, and Beth Zinsky. Walker School honorees are Martin Acevedo, Anita Becker, Ron Buoscio, Jennifer Burns, Lisa Chikerotis, Jason Collins, Kathy Crick, Leslie DeBoer, Laura Dermody, Erik Donovan, Mike Doody, Lauren Driscoll, Leah Fischer, Aubrey Gallagher, Kelly Higgins, Marianne Hourihan, Tammy Johnson, Dottie Kirwan, Joe Klosak, Dawn Krueger, Jen Matos, Jen Medendorp, Kristy Milazzo, and Lauren Mondt. The total number of honorees this school year stands at 381.

### In personnel matters, the Board

- approved the employment of Alayna Speicher as a teacher;
- accepted the resignations of Pam Hodgson and Denise O'Donnell.

## In other matters, the Board

- approved the phone service contract with First Communications;
- appointed Board Member Rich Ward as the liaison and Board Vice President Rich Marron as the alternate to serve on the subcommittee to review architect qualifications;
- began a discussion of the potential financial impact of proposed changes in the state's school funding system as written in Senate Bill 1 (the former Senate Bill 16);
- heard a preview of the March 13, 2015 teacher in-service; and
- heard an update concerning daily PE.

Sean William Doyle	Rich Marron	David Faber	Stacey Borgens	Pam Kohlbacher	Richard Ward	Jennifer Werner
President	Vice President	Secretary	Member	Member	Member	Member