Summit Hill story Mokena and the Communities of Figure 161

February 11, 2015 meeting

Summit Hill District 161 Board Briefs

Serving 3,276 students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Supt. Barb Rains at 815.469.9103

Wall of Gratitude honorees recognized at Board meeting for service "above and beyond"

At Wednesday's meeting of the Board of Education, 68 staff members were recognized for their contributions "above and beyond the call of duty" as posted on the Wall of Gratitude. Honorees from the Administrative Center were Jim Jakubowski, Kevin Perkins, Ken Shenbarger, and Hugh Sumner, Arbury Hills School honorees were Lori Dusek, Rachel Johnston, Laura Kinnan, and Laura Vlosak. Dr. Julian Rogus School honorees were Kristy Balta, Gina Butzow, Maura Carroll, Kelli Chlum, Lori Coverick, Kathy Dompeling, Kyle Fischer, Tina Gnade, Dawn Goshko, Karen Labedz, Joyce Larson, Robin Millner, Jenna O'Callaghan, Christi Perch, Joy Reno, Brooke Roach, Rich Schereck and Molly Ward. Frankfort Square School honorees were Barb Almuddaris, Carla Dusek, Cathi McNeil, and Lucy Perz. Indian Trail School honorees were Deniz Aslan, Julie Carda, Fred Jacobi, Mary Alice McClain, Katie McGrath, Joanna Olszta, Kristen Person, Jennie Probst, Joe Renardo, Jonah Schneider, Linda Schober, Jody Tedeschi, Tina Walker and Dana Wright. Walker School honorees were Martin Acevedo, Anita Becker, Shelby Cramer, Kathy Crick, Tina Dalfonso, Laura Dermody, Mike Doody, Leah Fischer, Aubrey Gallagher, Lauren Gniadek, Kelly Higgins, Marianne Hourihan, Kyrianne Lisiecki, Jen Medendorp, Lauren Mondt, Julie Nance, Becca Rottman, Julie Sajewich, Kristin Schaefer, Meghan Sepessy and Pam Tucker. Summit Hill Jr. High School honorees were Ryan Hagen and Mollie Marshall.

In personnel matters, the Board

- approved the employment of Kristin Kocolowski as a teacher;
- approved the employment of Shari Lovingfoss and Roberta Kubik as paraprofessionals; and
- accepted the resignation of Bernadette Kosnick.

In other matters, the Board

- accepted gifts from Arbury Hills School SCO in the amount of \$2,243.73; Dr. Julian Rogus School SCO in the amount of \$11,747.00; Dr. Julian Rogus School parent Tamara Valadez in the amount of \$85; Frankfort Square School SCO in the amount of \$940.76; Indian Tail School SCO in the amount of \$8,712.29; Walker School SCO in the amount of \$2,830.44; Meemic Insurance Company in the amount of \$499.54; and the Mokena Meijer Store in the amount of \$1,000; and
- granted permission to complete the 10-year life safety surveys at Arbury Hills School, Frankfort Square School, Indian Trail School, and the Administrative Center/Mary Drew School.