

December 10, 2014 meeting

Summit Hill District 161 Board Briefs

Serving 3,267 students living in portions of Tinley Park, Mokena, and Frankfort

For additional information, please contact Supt. Barb Rains at 815.469.9103

Frankfort Square School presentation features tech integration in student learning

The Frankfort Square 3rd grade team of Megan Freeman, Jodi Reyes, and Robert Jeffrey, along with several students, presented examples of how skills learned in tech classes are incorporated into ELA and social studies classes. Students shared how they created comic strip sentences utilizing Pixie. They started with a blank template and wrote a comic using each of the four types of sentences. They added pictures to illustrate their sentences to complete their project. Students also shared how technology is being incorporated into research writing. Students shared that they use a split screen in order to add sentences from the facts found during research into their graphic organizer. They turn sentences into paragraphs in their organizer to create a draft of their paper. The final steps are peer editing, making revisions, and publishing their finished project.

Fifty-one staff members honored in November by school community for Wall of Gratitude

In response to Board Goal 2: ensuring a safe, inspiring, and welcoming environment, each school and the Administrative Center is displaying a Wall of Gratitude for staff, community members, and parents to post words of thanks and appreciation for efforts above and beyond the call of duty. 103 staff members have been nominated since the Wall of Gratitude was introduced in August. In November, 51 staff members are being honored for actions that positively contribute to the District's climate. Honorees from the Administrative Center are Nancy Teschke, Kevin Perkins and Tammy Miller. Arbury Hills School honorees are Christine Aguirre, Melissa Aleo, Ann Baud, Rita Binzen, John Buchanan, Angela Carlton, Jody Diehl, Lisa Drenner, Rachel Johnston, Daneen Klauba, Tracey Schimke, John Snipes, and Laura Vlosak. Dr. Julian Rogus School honorees are Joyce Larson and Jamie McClellan. Frankfort Square School honorees are Laura Fifer and Kristin Kocolowski. Indian Trail School honorees are Deniz Aslan, Amy Moss, Patricia Pfeiffer, Kathy Pirkle, Lucy Rios, Linda Schober, Jody Tedeschi and Dana Wright. Walker School honorees are Martin Acevedo, Maria Bullion, Kathy Crick, Laura Goebel, Kristi Linke, Diane Mears-Mustafa, Lona Mucha, Dan Pierson, and Pam Tucker. Summit Hill Jr. High honorees are Kim Coughlin, Scott Cancialosi, Katie Goddard, Pam Hodgson, Joanne Madonia, Cheryl Michals, Kristen Miserendino, Denise O'Donnell, Fred Pufahl, Melissa Ramey, Scott Smalter, John Wade, Nancy Watt, and Summit Hill Jr. High teachers.

Communication efforts related to bullying prevention program shared

The Superintendent Advisory for Goal 2 has been addressing the topic of bullying prevention. An updated version of the policy was approved by the Board earlier this year. Currently, bullying prevention information and reporting procedures are posted on school websites and also are listed in the Parent-Student Handbook. At Wednesday's Board meeting, members were made aware of further efforts to communicate the information via a brochure that is now available on the District homepage's "quick links" at:

http://www.summithill.org/Documents/Ctrl_Hyperlink/bullying_brochure_uid121220141217202.pdf

In personnel matters, the Board

- approved the employment of Wendy Carey, Carmen Torres and Cathryn Connolly as paraprofessionals;
- approved a FMLA extension request; and
- accepted the resignations of Kim Ulcigrai and Leslie Janes.

.

In other matters, the Board

- honored Det. Sergeant Duane Davis for his years of dedication to Summit Hill School District's Safe Schools Program. Det. Sergeant Davis is retiring from the Will County Sheriff's Office at the end of this month.
- approved the 2014 Tax Levy resolution in the amounts of: Education Fund, \$22,757,163;
 Operations & Maintenance Fund, \$2,988,374; Transportation Fund, \$1,364,842; Working Cash Fund, \$419,951; Illinois Municipal Retirement Fund, \$83,990; Social Security Fund, \$344,360; Tort Immunity Fund, \$133,545; and Special Education Fund, \$462,786, along with Bond and Interest for a total levy of \$34,313,838;
- approved modifications to holidays on future District calendars should the District wish to hold school or schedule teacher institutes, parent/teacher conferences, or staff development activities on any of the five legal holidays: Columbus Day, Veterans Day, Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, President's Day, and Casimir Pulaski Day; and
- approved the evaluation tool for use with the District's medically licensed staff.



from the Board of Education to you and your family!